Blind Idiot God Confirmed To Perform At Roadburn Festival April 2016

By 16th December 2015Tours

December 16th, 2015 (Brooklyn, NY) — Indivisible Music is proud to announce that Blind Idiot God have been confirmed to perform at Roadburn Festival in April 2016.

Festival founder, Walter Hoeijmakers, explains: “Over the past decade, Roadburn Festival has been about sonic diversity, whether it’s crunching heavy riffage, weird psychedelics, avant-garde or post (noise)rock, and a cult-band like Blind Idiot God has always been an huge inspiration to fulfill our quest for “leftfield sonic pleasures that push the boundaries of music.”

Blind Idiot God almost singlehandedly embodies our manifesto. The moment we heard the band’s first release in over 20 years, the kaleidoscopic, and equally brilliant, Before Ever After, we got extremely excited, and feverishly hoped to get them at Roadburn 2016. It was one simple statement over at The Obelisk, saying that Blind Idiot God found themselves a European bookings agency, that got us immediately on the phone to get the invitation through. It’s not surprising that we’re overjoyed to welcome Andy Hawkins (guitar), Tim Wyskida (Khanate, Jodis, Plotkin & Wyskida) on drums, and Will Dahl on bass (though founding member Gabe Katz plays bass on the album) at Roadburn 2016 on Sunday, April 17th, along with Neurosis (celebrating their 30th anniversary), Jakob and Amenra among others. it will be an incredible sonic mass.”

Roadburn Festival has become Europe’s leading underground festival for psychedelic, avant-garde, doom or any other variation of leftfield sonic pleasures that push the boundaries of music and bring together bands, fans and media from around the world. Despite its international acclaim, Roadburn Festival retains an underground vibe and ethic, but with seriously big-league production values. In addition to the music, Roadburn has earned a reputation for its unique camaraderie between the festival goers, bands, organizers and staff, and ranks as one of the best and most laid-back festivals to be experienced. It is one of the festival’s primary goals to make the Roadburn experience second to none, not only for the fans but for the artists as well. Roadburn 2016 will run for four days from Thursday, April 14 to Sunday, April 17 at the 013 venue in Tilburg, The Netherlands.

In addition to the highly anticipated show at Roadburn, Blind Idiot God have confirmed tour dates in The Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, Italy and Norway.

Blind Idiot God European Tour April 2016

  • Wednesday, April 13th at Vera in Groningen, The Netherlands
  • Thursday, April 14th at Magasin 4 in Brussels, Belgium
  • Friday, April 15th TBA
  • Saturday, April 16th TBA
  • Sunday, April 17th Roadburn Festival at 013 in Tilburg, The Netherlands
  • Monday, April 18th at Sonic Ballroom in Cologne, Germany
  • Tuesday, April 19th at Bad Bonn in Duedingen, Switzerland
  • Wednesday, April 20th at Serraglio in Milan, Italy
  • Thursday, April 21st at Freakout Club in Bologna, Italy
  • Friday, April 22nd TBA
  • Saturday, April 23rd TBA
  • Sunday, April 24th at Cassiopeia in Berlin, Germany
  • Monday, April 25th TRAVEL DAY
  • Tuesday, April 26th TRAVEL DAY
  • Wednesday, April 27th at Blast in Trondheim, Norway
  • Thursday, April 28th at Pokalen in Oslo, Norway
  • Friday, April 29th at Hulen in Bergen, Norway
  • Saturday, April 30th at Folken in Stavanger, Norway

Irish online magazine Thumped recently made the astute observation that “…no one else, apart from maybe Bad Brains, would have the chutzpah to merge seamlessly from hardcore to dub…” Hamburg, Germany’s Byte.FM calls the album “a comeback of Johnny Cash proportions.” Invisible Oranges calls it “epic instrumental noise rock.” And the Wire, UK says the new record is “sound as physical force.”

Blind Idiot God is Andy Hawkins on guitar; Tim Wyskida (Khanate, Jodis, Plotkin & Wyskida) on drums; Will Dahl on bass (though founding member Gabe Katz plays bass on the album). The band has shared the stage with artists like John Zorn (a collaborator who released their third album on Avant Records), Helmet, Black Flag, The Minutemen, Sonic Youth, Die Kreuzen, Don Caballero, Jesus Lizard, Napalm Death, HR, Eekamouse among many others.

With Before Ever After, the band continues their deep exploration of heavy, funk and dub sounds. Three songs from the new album are featured on the soundtrack of the VHI documentary film about Napster titled, Downloaded, starring Mike D, Henry Rollins, Noel Gallagher and directed by Alex Winter (Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure, The Lost Boys, Freaked).